PROGRAM OVERVIEW

TUESDAY DAY (OPTIONAL)

Shadowing



Key Note Small Group

WEDNESDAY

Executive and Legislative Branch Sessions Workshops **Cultural Outing** Student Mock Legislature

THURSDAY

Court of Criminal Appeals Cases Workshops Banquet Dance

FRIDAY MORNING

Media (The Fourth Branch) Community Session End



Oklahoma Close Up expresses its gratitude for the generous support it receives from its sponsors:

Close Up Foundation Oklahoma Bar Association The Oklahoma Publishing Company Oklahoma Alliance for Geographic Education The OKC Bricktown Rotary Club **Crest Foods** Sam's Clubs, Midwest City and Norman Chic-Fil-A, Midwest City Murphy's Family Grill

Their contributions to citizenship education have allowed for the participation of Oklahoma students and teachers in the Oklahoma Close Up program.



Board of Advisors

Maj. General Rita Aragon, Oklahoma Air National Guard Rep. Gary Banz - Oklahoma State House - District 101 David Boren - President - University of Oklahoma Timothy S. Davis – President/CEO – Close Up Foundation Kim Henry - Executive Director - Sarkeys Foundation Rep. Scott Inman - Oklahoma State House - District 94 Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb - State of Oklahoma Judge Gary Lumpkin - Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals Sen. Anastasia Pittman – Oklahoma State Senate – District 48

Cover Photo: Diversity in Oklahoma Politics

www.okcloseup.org

Oklahoma Close Up 2015

February 17 - February 20



Energy, our past - our future

INSIDE...

Program Schedule **Program Instructors** Steering Committee

Tuesday, February 17

State Capitol – Various Locations

8:30a Shadowing at State Capitol

3:00p Return to Hotel

Hotel

3:30p Registration (Outside Ballroom)

Holiday Inn Airport

4401 SW 15th

(405) 601-7272

5:45p Welcome - Ballroom

6:00p Dinner - Ballroom

6:30p Keynote: Dr. Dick Pryor

Deputy Director, Managing Editor – OETA

7:30p Orientation / Introductions

8:00p Small Group / Teachers Meeting

10:30p Free Time

11:00p Room Check

Wednesday, February 18

6:30a Breakfast (load buses at 7:10a)

7:15a Buses Depart

State Capitol

7:30a Walking Workshop / Small Group 8:30a Walk to Oklahoma Bar Center

Oklahoma Bar Center

8:50a Mr. David Poarch

President, Oklahoma Bar Association

9:00a Hon. Glenn Johnson

Chancellor, Oklahoma State System of Higher Education

10:15a Democrat and Republican Party

Representatives from each party

11:20a Lunch

11:50p Assemble for Photo

12:00p Hon. Joy Hofmeister

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

1:15p Topic Tables

2:30p Load Buses

3:00p Tour Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum

5:30p Buses Depart

Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum

3:30p Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum Tour

5:30p Buses Depart

Hotel

6:00p Dinner / Rules Committee Sponsored by Murphy's Family Grill, Midwest City

7:30p Mock Legislature I – Ballroom

11:00p Room Check

Thursday, February 19

6:30a Breakfast

8:15a Buses Depart

Oklahoma Bar Center

8:50a Oklahoma Court System / Case Briefing

Mr. Brady Henderson Legal Director, ACLU of Oklahoma

9:55a Accelerated Court Docket
Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals

11:00a Hon. Gary Lumpkin

Judge, Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals

11:30a Lunch with OCCA Judges

12:30p **Sen. Anastasia Pittman**Senate District 48

1:15p Mock Legislature II

2:30p **Hon. Drew Edmondson**Oklahoma Attorney General, Retired

3:30p **Sen. Ervin Yen** Senate District 40

4:30p Load Buses

Hotel

5:00p Prepare for Banquet

6:15p Banquet

7:00p Keynote: **Mr. Brian Bush** *CEO, Altus Chamber of Commerce*

9:00p Dance

11:00p Room Check

π

Friday, February 20

6:30a Breakfast

7:30a Hotel Check Out

(Store luggage at Hotel or with Teacher)

8:00a Buses Depart

State Capitol – Supreme Court (2nd Floor)

8:15a Assemble

8:30a Terri Watkins

Communications Director, Commissioners of the Land Office

9:30a Hon. James Winchester

Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

10:15a Break

10:30a Rep. Scott Inman

Minority Leader, Okla. House of Reps. House District #94

11:15a Vernon Guess

Chair, Oklahoma Close Up

11:30a Small Group

12:00p Load Buses for Hotel

Program Instructors & Groups

James Hock – 1 Ashley Stewart – 5

Erica Stephens – 2 Andy Fugate – 6

Dakota Roberson – 3 Tony Peevyhouse – 7

Austin Elliott – 4 Madison Lowrey – 8

Buck Roberson - 9

Steering Committee

Chair - Vernon Guess

Secretary - Mary Cagigal

Treasurer – Ann Kennedy

Program – Melissa Jones

Shadowing - David Hopper

Additional Members

Andy Fugate
Sara Bana
Julie Guild
James Hock
Sara Bana
Julie Guild
James Hock
Brandi Webster

April Hutson Diane Walker

Hayley McKinney

Eugene Earsom – Oklahoma Alliance for Geographic Ed.

Jane McConnell – Oklahoma Bar Association