PROGRAM OVERVIEW

TUESDAY DAY

Executive and Legislative Branch Sessions Workshops Lobbying

Community



TUESDAY NIGHT

Key Note Small Group

WEDNESDAY

Shadowing Workshops Supreme Court Student Mock Legislature

THURSDAY

Court of Criminal Appeals Cases Cultural Outing Banquet Dance

FRIDAY MORNING

Media (The Fourth Branch) Community Session End Oklahoma Close Up expresses its gratitude for the generous support it receives from its sponsors:

Close Up Foundation Oklahoma Bar Association Oklahoma Alliance for Geographic Education Crest Foods Sam's Clubs, Midwest City and Norman Chick-Fil-A, Midwest City Michael's Catering Service, Midwest City

Their contributions to citizenship education have allowed for the participation of Oklahoma students and teachers in the Oklahoma Close Up program.



ADVISORY BOARD

Major General Rita Aragon Fmr. Rep. Gary Banz – Oklahoma State House – District 101 David Boren – President – University of Oklahoma Timothy S. Davis – President/CEO – Close Up Foundation Kim Henry – Executive Director – Sarkeys Foundation Sup. Joy Hofmeister – Oklahoma State Superintendent V. Burns Hargis – President – Oklahoma State University Rep. Scott Inman – Oklahoma State House – District 94 Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb – State of Oklahoma Judge Gary Lumpkin – Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals Sen. Anastasia Pittman – Oklahoma State Senate – District 48 Dick Pryor – General Manager – KGOU Radio

www.okcloseup.com

Oklahoma Close Up 2018

February 20 - February 23



You! Can be part of the Sol – You – tion!

INSIDE...

Program Schedule Program Instructors Steering Committee

Tuesday, February 20

Oklahoma Bar Center

8:30a Arrival 9:00a Small Group 9:15a Welcome Vernon Guess Chair, Oklahoma Close Up 9:30a Joe Allbaugh Director. Oklahoma Department of Corrections 10:30a Dr. R. Keith Gaddie University of Oklahoma, Political Science 11:30a Lunch

12:00p Photo

- 12:15p Hon. Joy Hofmeister State Superintendent of Public Instruction
- 1:15p Topic Tables

2:15p Hon. Dave Lopez

Secretary of State, Education and Workforce Development

3:15p Teachers Transport Students to Hotel

Hotel

3:45p Registration (Ballroom)

Holiday Inn Oklahoma City North 6200 N Robinson Ave (405) 286-4777

- 5:30p Dinner Ballroom
- 6:00p Keynote:

Pat Hall / Jim Dunlap

- Registered Lobbyists, Majority Plus 7:00p Orientation and Introductions
- 7:30p Small Group / Teachers Meeting
- 10:30p Free Time
- 11:00p Room Check

Wednesday, February 21

6:30a Breakfast

7:45a Load Buses

State Capitol

8:30a Shadowing Prep 4th floor, Rotunda 2:50p Gathering

Committee Rm 419C

Oklahoma Judicial Center - Great Room

- 3:00p Small Group Bill Writing 4:00p Hon. Douglas L. Combs
- Chief Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court 5:00p Buses Depart

Hotel

5:30p Free Time 6:00p Dinner / Rules Committee Sponsored by Murphy's Catering, Midwest City 6:45p Free Time 7:15p Mock Legislature I – Ballroom 10:30p Free Time

11:00p Room Check

Thursday, February 22

6:30a Breakfast 7:00a Sen. Anastasia Pittman Senate District #48 8:00a Load Buses

Oklahoma Bar Center

8:45a Oklahoma Court System / Case Briefing **Brady Henderson** Legal Director, ACLU of Oklahoma 9:55a Accelerated Court Docket Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals

- 11:00a Q&A with Judges and Attorneys 11:30a Lunch with OCCA Judges

12:15p Mock Legislature II

- 1:30p Hon. Jari Askins Administrative Director of the Courts
- 2:15p Load Buses

Oklahoma History Center

2:30p Tour/Visit

5:00p Load Buses

Hotel

- 5:30p Prepare for Banquet 6:15p Banquet
- 7:00p Kevnote: Bob Burke
- Attorney, Author, Historian 8:00p Lauren Rumski (tentative)
- Close Up Foundation, Washington D.C. 9:00p Dance / Teacher Meetings
- 11:00p Room Check

Friday, February 23

6:30a Breakfast

7:30a Hotel Check Out (Store luggage at Hotel or with Teacher) 7:45a Buses Depart

State Capitol – Senate Chambers

8:15a Assemble 8:30a Terri Watkins Director of Communications for the Oklahoma Attorney General 9:30a Rep. Scott Inman House District #94 10:15a Dr. Dick Pryor General Manager, KGOU Radio 11:15a Vernon Guess Chair. Oklahoma Close Up 11:30a Small Group

12:00p Load Buses for Hotel

Program Instructors / Groups

- James Hock 1 Andy Fugate 5
- Sarah Murphy 2 Madison Lowry– 6
 - Austin Elliott 3 Jack Robertson 7
- Fernanda Salazar 4 Davin Gooch 8

Steering Committee

Chair – Vernon Guess

Secretary – Mary Cagigal Treasurer – Ann Kennedy Program – Melissa Jones Shadowing – David Hopper

Additional Members

Andy Fugate April Hutson Sara Bana Michael Murphy Eugene Earsom Brandi Webster James Hock Diane Walker